Who's Who: Significant People and Organisations

Beja Congress
National Democratic Alliance (NDA)
National Islamic Front (NIF)
Sudan Alliance Forces (SAF)
Sudan People's Liberation Army/Movement (SPLA/M)

Political Parties (banned after 1989)
Ba'ath Party (Syrian & Iraqi origins)
Democratic Unionist Party (DUP)
Muslim Brotherhood (MB)
National Alliance for Salvation (NAS)
National Congress Party (NCP)
National Islamic Front (NIF - Still operating, effectively in power)
Progressive People's Party (PPP)
Republican Party
Southern Sudan Political Association (SSPA)
Sudan African National Union (SANU)
Sudanese African Congress (SAC)
Sudanese African People's Congress (SAPCO)
Sudan Communist Party (SCP)
Sudanese National Party (SNP)
Sudanese People's Federal Party (SPFP)
Umma Party
Sudan People's Liberation Movement (SPLM)

Sudan People's Liberation Army (SPLA) - military wing of SPLM

After the SPLM split in August 1991:
John Garang faction: SPLM/SPLA (Torit or Mainstream)
Riek Machar faction: SPLM/SPLA (Nasir or United)

After October 1994:
The Riek Machar faction of SPLM/SPLA United was renamed Southern Sudan
Independence Movement/Army (SSIM/SSIA).
(Dismissed by Riek Machar in February 1994, Lam Akol claimed title of SPLM/SPLA
United for his group in West Central Upper Nile in October 1994.)